top of page

UCC Congratulates PM-Designate Justin Trudeau and Welcomes Ten Ukrainian Canadians Elected to Parlia

October 20, 2015 – Ottawa.  The Ukrainian Canadian Congress congratulates Mr. Justin Trudeau and the Liberal Party of Canada for the results of the 2015 Canadian federal election.


“On behalf of Canada’s 1.3 million Ukrainian Canadian community, I congratulate Mr. Trudeau on his election as Prime Minister and all the Members of Parliament elected to the House of Commons,” stated UCC National President Paul Grod.  “We were pleased to have the opportunity to meet with Prime Minister-designate Trudeau last week.  Mr. Trudeau made it clear, in no uncertain terms, that Ukraine will remain a top foreign policy priority for a Liberal government under his leadership.  Mr. Trudeau’s strong statements in support of Ukraine and opposition to Russia’s aggression leave no doubt that his government will strongly support Ukraine. I look forward to working with Mr. Trudeau and his government, in addressing key issues of importance to the Ukrainian Canadian community.”

The UCC congratulates all the candidates from coast to coast to coast who sought public office and recognizes the many thousands of volunteers who dedicated their time to Canada’s democratic process.  “Thank you to Prime Minister Stephen Harper for his leadership and dedication during his almost 10 years of service.  Prime Minister Harper together with his team served Canada with distinction and remains a strong and vocal supporter of Ukraine.”

Among the Members of Parliament elected yesterday, more than 10 are of Ukrainian heritage. The ten confirmed MPs of Ukrainian descent (East to West) are:

Julie Dzerowicz – Lib (Davenport, Ont)

Chrystia Freeland – Lib (University-Rosedale, Ont)

Borys Wrzesnewskyj – Lib. (Etobicoke-Centre, Ont)

Kyle Peterson- Lib (Newmarket-Aurora, Ont)

Terry (Taras) Duguid – Lib (Winnipeg South, Manitoba)

Mary Ann Mihychuk – Lib (Kildonan-St. Paul, Manitoba)

James Bezan – Con (Selkirk-Interlake, Manitoba)

Rona Ambrose – Con (Sturgeon River-Parkland, Alberta)

Jim Eglinski – Con (Yellowhead, Alberta)

Mark Warawa – Con (Langley-Aldergrove, BC)

The UCC remains committed to working with elected officials from all parties on issues of importance to the Ukrainian Canadian community.

1 view0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page